DJEBBA FIG GI

In 2012, the Djebba fig became the first fruit in Tunisia to be protected by a geographical indication (GI).

The Bouhouli fig variety is indeed unique in the world and only grows in Djebba, a mountain village in the governorate of Beja from where it draws all its authenticity and typicality. 

When the PAMPAT 1 project started, the GI was not yet implemented and no farmer was labeling the figs. UNIDO has collaborated with the Ministry of Agriculture and the Inter-professional Fruits Group (GIFRUITS) to train farmers on respecting the product specifications and to encourage labeling. 

The Djebba fig has thus become the first product with a geographical indication in Tunisia to be certified through an external audit process carried out by INNORPI.

In 2018 a local association in Djebba has been designated for the first time in Tunisia by law to be responsible for the promotion and management of the GI. 

Today 25% of eligible local fig production is certified with the GI. In order to promote the marketing of the GI Djebba fig, the PAMPAT project has provided support to the producers of the region regarding technical, logistical and marketing issues.

Moreover, under the leadership of GIFRUITS, a public-private promotional program has been set up to make the certified fruit known to Tunisian and foreign consumers through tasting days in supermarkets or gastronomic, cultural and touristic events around the GI Djebba fig.

During the production season, the GI figs are sold to supermarket chains and are exported to the Gulf countries and Canada. The commercial success of the Djebba figs has doubled sales prices for farmers.

In order to generate income outside the agricultural season, PAMPAT has supported several rural women groups in Djebba to start the production of processed fig products, including dried figs, jams, pastries and juices. 

The GI fig as a local flagship product, has made the village famous, has improved the reputation of Djebba and is attracting more and more visitors.

Djebba has indeed an enchanting landscape and is located at an altitude of 700 meters at the foot of the Goraa mountain.

At the end of 2018, the Tunisian National Tourist Office (ONTT), with the support of PAMPAT started several activities to promote Djebba as a tourism destination.
The number of visitors has increased by 150 % between 2015 and 2019. Today the inhabitants of Djebba are embracing new ways to further strengthen the link between the flagship product and the region in order to attract even more tourists.

 

More documents and videos related to this field are available here.

  Video about the Djebba Fig GI

 Website of the Djebba Fig GI

Copyright @ 2020 PAMPAT Tunisia
en_USEnglish

Figues de Djebba AOC

La figue de Djebba est devenue en 2012 le premier fruit en Tunisie à être protégé par une Appellation d’ Origine Contrôlée (AOC).

La variété de figues Bouhouli est en effet unique au monde et ne pousse qu’à Djebba, un village de montagne dans le gouvernorat de Béja d’où elle tire toute son authenticité et sa typicité. Quand le projet PAMPAT 1 a démarré l’AOC n’était pas encore mise en œuvre et aucun agriculteur ne labellisait les figues. 

L’ONUDI a collaboré avec le Ministère de l’Agriculture et le Groupement Interprofessionnel des Fruits (GIFRUITS) pour former les agriculteurs sur le cahier des charges et encourager la labellisation. 

La figue de Djebba est devenue ainsi le premier produit ayant une indication géographique en Tunisie qui est certifiée suite à des audits externes réalisés par l’INNORPI.

Depuis 2018 et pour la première fois en Tunisie, une association locale à Djebba est chargée par loi de la promotion et de la gestion de l’AOC sur place. 

Aujourd’hui 25% de la production locale éligible est certifiée avec AOC. Pour promouvoir la commercialisation de la figue de Djebba AOC, le projet PAMPAT a apporté son appui aux opérateurs de la région au niveau technique, logistique et marketing.

Par ailleurs et sous le leadership du GIFRUITS, un programme promotionnel public-privé a été mis en place pour faire connaître le fruit certifié aux consommateurs tunisiens et étrangers à travers des dégustations dans les grandes surfaces ou des événements gastronomiques, culturels et touristiques autour de la figue de Djebba AOC.

Lors de la saison de production, les figues AOC se commercialisent à travers le réseau des supermarchés et s’exportent sur les pays du Golfe et au Canada. Le succès commercial des figues de Djebba a permis de doubler les prix de vente au niveau du village.

Afin de créer des revenus en dehors de la campagne agricole, le PAMPAT a appuyé plusieurs groupes de femmes rurales à Djebba pour démarrer la production de produits de terroir à base de figues, notamment les figues séchées, les confitures, les pâtisseries et les jus. 

La figue de Djebba AOC en tant que produit phare fait parler du village, améliore sa visibilité et sa notoriété et attire de plus en plus de visiteurs.

En effet, Djebba dispose d’un emplacement pittoresque perché à 700 mètres de hauteur au pied de la montagne Goraa.

Depuis fin 2018, l’Office National du Tourisme Tunisien (ONTT) a démarré des activités pour mettre en valeur les atouts touristiques de Djebba avec l’appui du PAMPAT.
Entre 2015 et 2019 le nombre de visiteurs a augmenté de 150%.Aujourd’hui les djebbaois cherchent à renforcer encore plus le lien entre le produit phare et la région pour attirer davantage de touristes.

Vidéo sur la Figue de Djebba AOC

  Site web de la Figue de Djebba AOC

Copyright @ 2020 PAMPAT TUNISIE